Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Writing 101 (Van Bebber): Welcome!

For Today's Session....

1. Please sit with your groups

2. Go to this guide on the Library's computer or your computer: bit.ly/wri101kvb 

Login: Library User 

Password: UCML

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

The VPN allows you to connect to the library's online articles and eBooks from off campus.

Visit Connecting Off Campus to download the VPN.

VPN

*Image courtesy of Design Services, UCI Libraries

Accessing Full-Text

When looking at articles in a database, full-text may be immediately available via a PDF or HTML page. If not, use the UCeLinks button. 

Here's an example of an article you would need to use UC-eLinks to get the full text:

Improving Underperforming Schools

If UC-eLinks doesn't give you any options to read the full-text online, you can Interlibrary Loan (ILL) the item using your UCMnetID. Here's an example of an article you would need to ILL:

Human Services Professionals' Awareness of Human Trafficking

Goals

By the end of this session, you will be able to:

  • find and differentiate between different article types such as, original research articles vs. review articles

  • craft successful searches to retrieve relevant information

  • identify and use psychology databases, primarily PsycINFO; use database functionality to your advantage e.g. limiters (date, article type) sorting, etc.

These skills will assist you in completing your annotative bibliography and research review assignments in Writing 101, and beyond! 

Writing Center

Are you ...

  • developing a thesis?
  • organizing your ideas?
  • incorporating evidence?

Visit the Writing Center for an individual consultation with a peer.

Hours & Location

  • KL 296
  • Monday - Thursday 9 am to 5 pm
  • Friday 9 am to 3 pm
  • Sunday 5 pm to 8 pm

Appointments 

  • Appointments can be made at WCOnline.
  • Students may schedule up to 60 minutes per day (one 60-minute session or two 30-minute sessions)
  • Students may schedule up to 2 appointments per week.

people at table

Subject Guide

Elizabeth Salmon's picture
Elizabeth Salmon
Contact:
KL 275
Library Office Suite
209.631.6954
Website

Chat with a Librarian 24/7