Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the Guide
After this class, you will be able to:
- select databases to use based on your topic
- take advantage of database functionality to improve your search results
- export citation information to RefWorks in order to create a bibliography
WRI 101 To-Do List
Here's a quick checklist of things to do prior to our class on Thursday, July 25.
See you soon!
- Download the VPN to your computer or other web-enabled device, so you can have access to library databases off-campus. (See Accessing Information)
- Watch the short UC-eLinks video to learn how to get the full-text of an article when you don't see a PDF and how to initiate a request to receive books, articles, and other items from other libraries. (See Accessing Information)
- Explore how to make an appointment with a librarian with our new easy-to-use calendar and read over the information about the 24/7 librarian chat. (See Getting Research Help)
- Set up your RefWorks account. RefWorks is a citation management tool that the Library subscribes to that can help you save some time when it comes to saving, organizing, and citing information for your assignments. It's not perfect, though! (See Setting Up RefWorks)
- Review the difference between empirical/original and review articles. The databases provide access to many different types of scholarly articles. Looking over a review article will also give you a heads up about the kind of paper you are writing for your class. (See Empirical & Review Articles)
Now that you have learned more about how the databases work and interpret searches, what are some specific things you could try / explore / take advantage of when you go back to searching in the databases?
Write your answer on the half-sheet at your desk. You don't have to write in complete sentences. This is meant for you to have something to refer back to when you leave today. It's also helpful for me to see what stands out to you.
Instruction & Outreach Librarian
, Criminal Justice
, Gardening and Horticulture
, Government Publications
, Health Sciences
, Native American Studies
, Political Science
, Psychology and Cognitive Science
, Urban Studies