Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Reopening Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Writing 10 (Santillan)

Welcome

Hello Students,

  • Prior to your library research session, please complete the following activities and  tutorials below. 
  • During our in-person session, you will be navigating to the A-Z Databases list and also using Academic Search Complete.

library logo

Tutorial: Finding & Selecting Databases

Finding & Selecting Databases

Finding & Selecting Databases banner graphic

Instructions:

By the end of this tutorial, you will be able to

  • recognize how the library provides access to academic content for your research.
  • find databases available from the library.
  • select subject-specific databases to search based on a topic.

Tutorial: Using Academic Search Complete

Using Academic Search Complete Tutorial

Instructions:

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial. Enter your email address AND your professor's email address hsandoval2@ucmerced.edu. Afterward, locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Certificate of completion" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).

Get Started! Open >> Using Academic Search Complete