Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
By the end of this session, you will be able to:
- develop a strategy for researching a topic of interest.
- recognize common similarities and differences between databases.
- access databases and retrieve useful information resources.
- identify people and services for asking follow-up questions.
Are you ...
- developing a thesis?
- organizing your ideas?
- incorporating evidence?
Visit the Writing Center for an individual, virtual consultation with a peer.
Hours & Location
The Writing Center is located in the Kolligian Library, Room 296. Due to the Coronavirus emergency, the Library building and the Writing Center are physically closed.
Virtual Appointments are available.
Monday - Thursday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
9:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Find out more about our online sessions here.
- Appointments can be made at WCOnline.
- Students may schedule up to 60 minutes per day (one 60-minute session or two 30-minute sessions)
- Students may schedule up to 2 appointments per week.
Some places to start
The library has more than 300 databases where you can search for articles, images, audio files, videos, and more. The list of databases below is just a sampling of what's available. More library databases are available at http://library.ucmerced.edu/research/databases/subject-areas.
Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.
Congressional Research Service Reports (ProQuest)
2004 - present. CRS provide excellent background information on areas of public policy. The are generated by researchers working within the Library of Congress and are created at the request of Members of Congress or their committees.
Newsbank: Access World News
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher
CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .
GOTS Academic Search Complete Tutorial
Outside Class Assignment Need VPN if completing from an off-campus location.
Academic Search Complete Tutorial
- Complete the Academic Search Complete database tutorial.
- You will follow the instructions on the left of the screen and, as needed, complete activities in the main screen (right).
- To receive credit, you must complete a short quiz at the end of each tutorial.
- When prompted at the end of the tutorial, enter your email address and your instructor’s email address.
Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics
, Computer Science
, Engineering (Aerospace)
, Engineering (Biological)
, Engineering (Civil)
, Engineering (Environmental)
, Engineering (General)
, Engineering (Mechanical)
, Science (Environmental)
, Science (General)
, Science (Material)
Searching for Books
You may find a reference to a book title from a book review or a bibliography. Search Melvyl to see if the book is in our local collection or if you can Request through Interlibrary Loan.
UC Library Search
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Access Library Resources from Off Campus