Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Popular Articles (News & Magazine Articles)
Popular articles (published in print and/or online newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and other sources) are not reviewed by experts but may be extensively researched and/or fact-checked, depending on the publication. Their purpose is to share information about current events, politics, and cultural and social issues. These sources can also be used in a historical context, as well. They are written for a general audience.
Newspaper & Magazine Databases
Below are just a few of the 65+ library databases that provide access to news content. Find more by visiting the Newspapers tag in the database A-Z list (Databases tab on the library website). You'll find both current and historical newspaper content.
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest)
1985 - present. Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and archives contain coverage as far back as 1985.
Newsbank: Access World News
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Selected Magazine Sources (from Academic Search Complete)
Selected magazine sources from Academic Search Complete recommended for research requiring magazine literature on a specific issue with differing points of view. The sources include Time, Economist, Atlantic Monthly, U.S. News & World Report and others. Note: May be appropriate for library research required for lower-division writing courses.
Investigating News Sources
Media Bias Fact Check (MBFC News)
- At Search > Dedicated Media Search, type in a news publication, e.g. CNN, to learn more about its reporting and bias.
- This independent online media outlet classifies news sources into five categories: least biased, left-center bias, right-center bias, left bias and right bias.
- MBFC explains how it determines bias in its Methodology section.
- Select Bias and then search the list for a specific news source. AllSides determines its bias ratings through blind surveys, third party data, and community feedback.
- Under News, view a current news topic with reporting from center, left and right leaning news sources. AllSides also classifies news sources into categories: center, lean left bias, lean right bias, left bias and right bias.
- This is an interactive news and educational site with a bias rating system intended to help news consumers see and understand different perspectives.