Spark 001 (Devrick)

Gaming the System

Selected Websites

Analog Games: World of Non-Digital Games
Encourages the use of table-top board games and card games. An outgrowth of @AnalogGames on Instagram. Note: Much content may be personal stories.
Destructoid (Enthusiast Gaming)
Website focused on video game news and reviews. Started as a blog in 2006.
Meeple Mountain
Provides board game news and reviews. Content is authored by ~40 contributors. Established in 2014.
Polygon (Vox Media)
A video game website that includes reviews, news about games, and "how to play" advice. Established in 2012.
The Mary Sue
Includes some information on video games with a focus on diversity, inclusion and women's representation.

Journals

Analog Game Studies
A journal focused on the academic and popular study of games. Mentions peer-review services though the journals is not covered in Ulrichs (a database about journals).
Game Studies: The International Journal of Computer Game Research
A cross-disciplinary peer-reviewed journal focused on games research. Start in 2001 (Denmark), irregular publishing.

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles from important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886. Includes industry & market research , SWOT analyses, over 600 books and more than 1,200 journals in the areas of business, marketing, management, finance and economics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Masterfile Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographics, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an image collection.
Newsbank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Combined) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to eight historical newspapers including the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1991), Los Angeles Times (1881-1991), New York Times (1851-2008), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-1994), Washington Post (1877-1995).
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and archives contain coverage as far back as 1985.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present). Also includes Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI).

Activity

Select

Select one or two games of interest to at least one person in your group.

Search

Search for information on that game on the free web. e.g. Google or a specific web source.
Search for information on that game in one library database.

Share

Be prepared to report back on ...
1. the game(s) you focused on
2. how challenging or easy it was to locate sources
3. any preferred search strategies or sources/databases