Skip to main content

Research as Inquiry: Learning Activities (Modules) in Canvas

Library resources for SPARK courses

Library Modules Available in CatCourses/Canvas

Library Modules are available for faculty to use with their students in CatCourses.  The modules introduce students to the basics of accessing library resources and beginning information literacy concepts.  They are especially intended for first-year students in Writing 1 and Spark classes.

  • Library modules can be directly imported into your CatCourse(s) from Canvas' Commons and incorporated into your curriculum.
  • Each module includes one or more quizzes with point values assigned. Once imported, you can adopt as is or adapt as desired.  For example, you could choose not to assign point values from the quizzes. 
  • Instructors can preview available modules below.  Librarians have suggested potential sequencing and use.
Moduel Content Time for Completion Outcomes Suggested Use
Accessing Information - VPN & UC-eLinks ( ~12 minutes, without VPN download)
  • understand why the VPN is needed for access to library resources from off-campus locations.
  • connect to the VPN in order to locate library resources.
  • know where to locate help for VPN set-up.
  • become familiar with the purpose and value of the UC-eLinks button.
  • use the UC-eLinks button to locate information.
suitable before or after Finding & Selecting Databases
Finding & Selecting Databases ( ~12 minutes)
  • recognize how the library provides access to academic content for your research.
  • find databases available from the library.
  • select subject-specific databases to search based on a topic.
suitable before or after Accessing Information - VPN & UC-eLinks
Evaluating Information  ( ~15 minutes)
  • identify important questions to ask when evaluating sources.
  • understand that source evaluation includes considering one’s information need.
  • evaluate sources and determine if a source is suitable for a specific information need.
suitable prior to Searching for Information
Searching for Information - Searching in Google (8-10 minutes)
  • recognize the pros and cons of using Google for specific information needs.
  • be able to use specific search strategies to improve Google results.
suitable after Evaluating Information; useful if students will be using freely available web sources

Finding Statistics & Data

( ~5 minutes)
  • distinguish between the need for statistics or data.
  • identify strategies for locating statistics or data.
suitable after Evaluating Information and Searching for Information - Searching in Google; useful if students will be using freely available web sources with a focus on finding stats

Working with Information - Reading Scholarly Articles

( ~12 minutes)
  • understand the common characteristics of scholarly articles.
  • know strategies for effectively reading scholarly articles.

suitable prior to any requirements that students read scholarly articles; could use after Finding & Selecting Databases if students also need to find scholarly articles

Video Instructions: Finding, Importing & Using Modules

Librarians highlight module/learning activity content, how to locate it in the Canvas Commons, and how to import it into your course(s). ~10 min.

Text Instructions: Import Library Modules into CatCourses

Follow the steps below to import Library Modules into your CatCourse from the Canvas Commons.

  1. Access the CatCourse in which you want to include one or more library modules.
  2. Click Commons (found in far left of a course).
  3. Search for UC Merced Library (or a specific module title). 
  4. Click on the activity you're interested in and select your course in the box on the right ("Import into Canvas")
  5. Click "Import into Course". You will be able to see imported modules under "Modules" in the list on the left. You can edit, mute, or set imported assignments as ungraded.

Note: it may be helpful to deselect "Show Public Resources" in your search in the Commons. This will show you just UC Merced resources.