Skip to main content
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Spark 1 (Winek): Suggested Databases Tutorials

Spark Seminar: Defining a Generation

GOTS: Using Sociological Abstracts

Using Sociological Abstracts

GOTS tutorial teal

Through this tutorial you will learn how to

  • access Sociological Abstracts
  • construct a search
  • apply useful database limiters
  • access full-text of articles
  • generate citations in ASA format

Instructions:

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial.  Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Certificate of completion" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).

Using Sociological Abstracts >> http://gots.ucmerced.edu/tutorial/using-sociological-abstracts

Using Academic Search Complete

Learn how to access and search Academic Search Complete, a database with a wide range of materials on many topics. (~2:00 min)

Using Melvyl

Use Melvyl to find eBooks, print books, as well as articles and other materials (UC Merced Library, 1:58).

GOTS Academic Search Complete Tutorial

Academic Search Complete Tutorial

GOT tutorial green

Instructions:

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial.  Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Certificate of completion" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).

Academic Search Complete Tutorial >> http://gots.ucmerced.edu/tutorial/using-academic-search-complete