Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GOTS Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete Tutorial
Looking for a refresher on using some of our databases?
Try using this tutorial. Many of the techniques found here will work in many of our other databases.
Recommended Subject Databases
We have selected these databases for your subject area. Visit our A-Z Database listing for many more options.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Articles from important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886. Includes industry & market research , SWOT analyses, over 600 books and more than 1,200 journals in the areas of business, marketing, management, finance and economics.
Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
1947 - present. Over 10,000 full-text articles from approximately 100 journal titles. Subjects include strategic management, human resource development, labor economics and interpersonal communication.
1969 - present. Compendex, via Engineering Village 2, contains over 9 million records and references from over 5,000 journals, conferences, and trade publications. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.
Nearly 9,000 business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, Web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also, company profiles and company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
1984 - present. WSJ is the worlds leading financial newspaper. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.
Business Expert Press
Searchable collection of business-related ebooks created by experts for non-experts. Subject areas include marketing, human resource management, entrepreneurship, small business management, public relations, consumer behavior, business ethics and more. Via iG Library.
A few of our more popular databases
The library has more than 300 databases where you can search for articles, images, audio files, videos, and more. The list of databases below is just a sampling of what's available. More library databases are available at http://library.ucmerced.edu/research/databases/subject-areas.
Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.
Congressional Research Service Reports (ProQuest)
2004 - present. CRS provide excellent background information on areas of public policy. Reports are generated by researchers working within the Library of Congress and are created at the request of Members of Congress or their committees.
Newsbank: Access World News
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher
* more topic based than geography based / CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .
Head, Access Services/ Librarian
Subjects: Astronomy and Astrophysics
, Computer Science
, Engineering (Aerospace)
, Engineering (Biological)
, Engineering (Civil)
, Engineering (Environmental)
, Engineering (General)
, Engineering (Mechanical)
, Science (Environmental)
, Science (General)
, Science (Material)