Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Información de fondo
Latin American Studies Bibliography (Oxford)
Compiled by noted Latin American scholars, this set of area studies bibliographies represents numerous disciplinary perspectives, including history, sociology, economics, literature, art, anthropology, and political science. Sample topics range from indigenous studies and the Conquest and colonial history and society, to race, immigration, the role of women, significant political events and cultural studies in contemporary Latin America.
Provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Search over 250 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Países / ciencias política / ciencias de la salud
The World Factbook (CIA)
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Country Profiles (BBC News)
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World This link opens in a new window
Includes names, descriptions and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Information on culture, communications, travel, business and maps for 175 countries and territories.
PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Previously PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service). Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
The Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP), hosted at Vanderbilt University, links to over 60 academic studies based on survey research conducted mainly in Latin America. The LAPOP surveys analyze citizen views on topics that range from system support and political tolerance, to citizen participation, local government, corruption, and views on authoritarianism. To date surveys have been conducted and are now being archived for: Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and Venezuela as well as for Madagascar, Israel and Albania.
Latin American & Caribbean Health Sciences Literature (LILACS)
LILACS (Latin American & Caribbean Health Sciences Literature) covers literature related to the health sciences and has been published in countries of Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982, and is published by WHO Regional Offices. It contains articles from about 670 of the most well-known journals in the medicine field, plus other documents such as: theses, books, conference proceedings, scientific reports and governmental publications.
Recursos claves de estudios latinoamericanos
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes contemporary and historical documents depicting the nature, integrity and culture of Latin America. Documents are in multiple languages. Includes historical and contemporary maps.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
1970 - present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
1935 - present. A bibliography of books, journal articles, proceedings in social sciences and humanities, edited by scholars selected by the Library of Congress.
RedALyc: Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y El Caribe, España y Portugal This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 1,000 open access journals published in Latin America, Spain and Portugal with coverage spanning both the Humanities and Sciences.
ClasePeriodica This link opens in a new window
CLASE and PERIODICA index over 2,600 Latin American journals in the fields of social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. The merged database also has over 300,000 citations published in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English. Includes, articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, reports, and interview published in journals from 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Digitalia Hispanica This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over five thousand digitized Spanish language academic ebooks and ejournals from a broad range of subjects.
Artes, cultura, historia
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
When complete this database will include 130,000 pages of fiction, poetry and drama. Works are in English, Spanish, French, Dutch and a variety of local languages. Covers from 1900 to the present and includes writers from the entire region, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana and Suriname.
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Brings together the voices of Latin American women from the 17th century to the present. Includes 120,000 pages of prose, poetry, drama, memoirs, letters and essays in the original languages. Authors are from Central and South America, as well as from Cuba and the Dominican Republic.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1926 - present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 & 2 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of historical articles and books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture as well as over 100 newspaper titles and books on Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries Written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is an ever-growing digital library of over 500,000 images of art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures and time periods to support teaching and learning in the humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from university presses and scholarly societies. Focused on the humanities and social sciences.
Digital Public Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. The dLOC partner institutions are the core of dLOC. dLOC partners retain all rights to their materials and provide access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use America: History and Life.
Latin American Data Base This link opens in a new window
LADB is a news and information service on Latin America which produces three weekly electronic publications: NotiCen, NotiSur, and SourceMex. Includes over 28,000 articles from a variety of Latin American news sources and journals.
Newsbank: Acceda Noticias This link opens in a new window
Access to a broad number of Spanish language newspapers from around the world, some with coverage beginning from 1982. Searchable by keyword, date, headline, author/byline and more.