Skip to main content

Sociology 15 (Dodson): Home

Research Methods in Sociology

Goals

You will be able to ...

  • anticipate challenges associated with your research question.
  • generate a search strategy based on your search question.
  • use basic and advanced search strategies (fielded, proximity, Cited by) to find useful information.
  • gain an awareness of additional search tools applicable to Sociology questions.

UC Merced Library

Database Tutorial

Using Sociological Abstracts

Through this tutorial you will learn how to

  • access Sociological Abstracts
  • construct a search
  • apply useful database limiters
  • access full-text of articles
  • generate citations in ASA format

Instructions:

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial.  Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Certificate of completion" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).

Using Sociological Abstracts >> http://ucmercedlibrary.info/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/using-sociological-abstracts

Ask Us

24/7 Chat: Real-time chat services provided by library staff from various academic libraries.
 
 
Phone: Call the Library Services Desk at 209.228.4444
 
Facebook: Post your questions on the Wall of Discussion board.
 

Research Appointment: Send a request to meet with a librarian.
 

Email: Email your question to library@ucmerced.edu

Library Instructor

Elizabeth Salmon's picture
Elizabeth Salmon
Contact:
KL 275
Library Office Suite
209.631.6954
Website

Chat with a Librarian 24/7