Skip to main content
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Sociology 15 (Daniels): Pre-Activities

Sociological Research Methods

Instructions

In preparation for our in-person library session, please complete the following. 

1) View the Sociological Abstracts video (2:30) for some context about the database.  This will help you for item #2.

2) Complete the GOTS (Guide on the Side Tutorial) in order to locate Sociological Abstracts, be introduced to search strategies and to try out this database's functionality.

3) View the "From Idea to Library" video (2:28).  Think about the questions asked.

We will start our session with a review of what you have learned.

Sociological Abstracts Video Tutorial

This video presents an Introduction to using Sociological Abstracts. Created by Utah State University Libraries (2.30)

GOTS: Using Sociological Abstracts

Using Sociological Abstracts

GOTS tutorial teal

Through this tutorial you will learn how to

  • access Sociological Abstracts
  • construct a search
  • apply useful database limiters
  • access full-text of articles
  • generate citations in ASA format

Instructions:

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial.  Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Certificate of completion" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).

Using Sociological Abstracts >> http://ucmercedlibrary.info/guide_on_the_side/tutorial/using-sociological-abstracts

Introduction: From Idea to Library

North Carolina State University (NCSU) Libraries, 2:28

  1. How long can it task for an article to accepted for publication?
  2. How do libraries provide researchers with access to scholarly journal articles?
  3. What tools help researchers locate specific journal articles?
  4. Do databases always include full-text?