Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Reopening Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Sociology 15 (Polonijo): Pre-Activities

Hello!

Dear Sociology 15 students, 

I'm Elizabeth Salmon, Research Services Librarian and Library Liaison to Sociology. On Wed 9/22, I am joining your class to provide an overview of research techniques and resources to support your Soc 15 projects. 

Before 9/22, please:

  1. Set up the VPN (if you haven't already.)
    1. Connecting to the VPN allows you to access Library resources from off-campus. See UC Merced VPN Installation Instructions (all devices) for instructions. Problems with installing or connecting? Contact OIT.
  2. Complete the Using Sociological Abstracts tutorial.
  3. Watch the 2 videos below.

During our session, we will begin with a review of the tutorial and the videos. Hope everyone's semester is off to a great start! Elizabeth

LibWizard Using Sociological Abstracts

Using Sociological Abstracts

Using Sociological Abstracts Tutorial

Through this tutorial you will learn how to

  • access Sociological Abstracts
  • construct a search
  • apply useful database limiters
  • access full-text of articles
  • generate citations in ASA format

Instructions:

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial.  Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Results for Using Sociological Abstracts" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).

Using Sociological Abstracts >> https://ucmercedlibrary.libwizard.com/f/sociological_abstracts

Find Full-Text through "Get It At UC" (2.58)

Article Networks Google Scholar (1.32)