Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a partial list of newspapers likely to be of interest to UC Merced administrators and staff. All of these newspapers can be accessed via computers on the campus network or via the UC Merced VPN. Anyone with questions about accessing or using these resources, or who is interested in learning about additional information resources available from the Library, is welcome to schedule an appointment with a UC Merced librarian.
Newspaper Information Resources
Chronicle of Higher Education
A news source for academia, it includes information on jobs for college and university faculty and administration.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest)
1985 - present. LA Times news stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
1881 - 2010. Provides access to LA Times content just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.
1985 - present. Access provided through Newsbank or NexisUni (for select article text).
London Times Digital Archive
1785 - 2013. The Times covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.
New York Times Online (UCM Full Access)
Provides subscriber-level digital access to NYTimes.com from 1851 to the current day, along with video, multimedia and multi-language articles. One-time activation required with annual re-authentication. To access the web version, Register
. Search for Merced and select University of California, Merced. Proceed with creating an account. Each user must register while on campus or through the VPN and must use a UC Merced email address. After you have registered, you can log in from the NYTimes.com site even if you are not on the UC Merced network. For directions on authentication, please consult this Activation Guide
Newsbank: USA Newspapers
Access to a comprehensive collection of US newspaper content, some with coverage beginning from 1980. Organized by state and searchable by keyword, date, headline, author/byline and more.
Newsbank: Access World News
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest)
1985 - present. Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and archives contain coverage as far back as 1985.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
1984 - present. WSJ is the worlds leading financial newspaper. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal
1889 - 1994. Provides access to the WSJ just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.
Deputy University Librarian