Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Look for the journal title in the eJournal finder. Search for the journal title in the Journals tab on the library home page search box. See if the journal is available. Is the date you need available? If so, drill down to the correct volume and issue number.
Public Health Communication by Designed for doctoral and master's level study, Public Health Communication: Critical Tools and Strategies for Advancing Public Health will prepare new graduates for any entry level position in public health policy/advocacy, health communication, health promotion, social marketing, or community health education. Filled with practical examples, the book is also a valuable resource for those preparing for the CPH or CHES exams.Students will learn core concepts for planning a communication framework as well key strategies for educating the public about health issues including understanding and reporting science, communicating for policy and advocacy, and health literacy and numeracy. The book thoroughly explores classic theories of persuasion in communication such as Extended Parallel Process Model, Inoculation, Sensation Value, and Cognitive Value. The most current forms of digital/multimedia/interactive channels of communication are examined. The last section of the book looks at some special contexts in health communication, such as patient-provider communication as well as risk/emergency communication.
Call Number: RA425 .P832 2018
Publication Date: 2017-04-05
Essentials of Public Health Communication by The field of communications is increasingly recognized as a powerful tool in addressing the world's most imperative public health challenges. Effective communication in health campaigns can inform, empower, or persuade individuals to adopt healthier lifestyles as well as foster public debate and policy change.Featuring a full chapter on informatics, this book is devoted to the competencies in health communication and informatics recommended by the Association of Schools of Public Health. With chapter contributions from some of the leading experts in public health informatics and epidemiology, health communication and evaluation, Essentials of Public Health Communications introduces concepts and examples that will prepare students to enter a local health department, community organization or government agency, and contribute to health communication research, patient counseling, materials design, program management and media relations. Written specifically for student use, this book presumes no prior knowledge of the health communication or the informatics fields. Concepts are presented in clear, jargon free language, with terms defined throughout.
Call Number: R118 .E87 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-13
The New Health Policy by WINNER of the Health and Social Care category at the BMA Medical Book Awards 2010! "This is a clear, readable, well-structured overview of recent health policy developments which succeeds in covering a lot of ground clearly and concisely although focused on the UK, NZ and USA. It would have benefitted from some examples of health policy in action, perhaps in the areas without a chapter, eg primary care, or health care rationing. It is recommended for the intended audience of students of health policy." BMA Medical Books Awards Judging Panel "This is an excellent and accessible introduction to key current debates in health policy. It is enriched by deft comparative analysis and by the way Dr Gauld locates the study in the context of current ideological debates. Students will learn a lot from wrestling with the questions posed at the end of each chapter - and so will their teachers!" Paul Wilding, Emeritus Professor of Social Policy, University of Manchester, UK This book analyzes the issues that form the nucleus of the emerging 'new health policy' agenda. Robin Gauld brings together in one volume a comprehensive picture of the health policy challenges facing contemporary developed world health systems, as well as the strategies for tackling these. Individual chapters, respectively, analyze: Challenges in health care funding and organization Quality and patient safety The application of information technology Clinical governance The changing nature of professionalism and public involvement in health care planning Public health The role of the private sector The book highlights the importance to policy makers of each subject, overviews research into it, and discusses policy responses in Britain, New Zealand and the United States. The New Health Policy is essential reading for all students of health policy and health care, along with policy makers and health care professionals.
Call Number: UC Merced eBook
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Making Health Policy by "This comprehensive and practical text provides a clear introduction to health policy analysis ... The book combines an overview of the theoretical base of the field with a range of real world examples drawn from different settings ... It is widely recognised as an essential text of international relevance, for students and practitioners alike. I highly recommend it to the new generation of activist-scholars in the field." Lucy Gilson, Professor of Health Policy and Systems, University of Cape Town, South Africa Part of the Understanding Public Health series, this bestselling book is the leading text in the field. It focuses on how health policy is made nationally and globally, clearly explaining the key concepts from political science with a wide array of engaging examples. This edition is fully updated to reflect new research and ways of thinking about the health policy process. Written by leading experts, this clear and accessible book addresses the "how" of health policy making in a range of international settings. The book provides an accessible approach to understanding: Health policy analysis Power and policy making Public and private sector Agenda setting Government roles in policy Interest groups and policy Policy implementation Globalization and policy process Policy research and evaluation Doing policy analysis Making Health Policy 2nd edition is an ideal resource for students of public health and health policy, public health practitioners and policy makers. Understanding Public Health is an innovative series published by Open University Press in collaboration with the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine. It provides self-directed learning covering the major issues in public health affecting low, middle and high-income countries. Series Editors: Rosalind Plowman and Nicki Thorogood. "This book is excellent and unique in the way it addresses complexity within the field of global health and policies in a simplified and practical way. Each chapter is structured to include Activities and Feedback, which fosters reflection and adult learning. This approach makes the book ideal for teaching at all levels of university. I highly recommend it." Göran Tomson, Professor of International Health Systems Research, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden "This is an excellent and accessible introduction to the politics of health policy-making by three of the world''s leading scholars on the subject. If anyone thinks that improving the health of a population is solely about getting the interventions and policy content right, this book will surely disavow them of that belief. Political dynamics matter, and the authors draw on the most up-to-date research to provide practitioners and students with clear, sensible, evidence-based guidance on how to manage these dynamics." Jeremy Shiffman, Associate Professor of Public Administration and Policy, American University, USA. "Making Health Policy is a must-read for those studying and working in global health. It provides a unique introduction to core concepts in global health policy and brings politics to the core of public health. Why do some issues get more attention than others? Why is evidence-based policy-making so difficult? How can we understand and study power in the health system? This book provides answers to these crucial questions." Devi Sridhar, James Martin Lecturer in Global Health Politics, Oxford University, UK "Having used the earlier edition of this book, I would highly recommend it. The book provides an outstanding mix of policy theories, described in clear and accessible terms, with up-to-date and engaging examples from across the world that illustrate the application of those theories. Frequent activities throughout the book provide openings for greater student engagement in the subject matter. It''s a great resource for teaching." Sara Bennett, Associate Professor, Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, USA "This book is an excellent teaching tool on policy making in the field of public health. It is very clearly structured and written, and provides a wealth of concrete examples to illustrate new concepts ... One of the key strengths is to highlight the political nature of health policy making, not presenting it as a technocratic process, but very much part of power dynamics at the local, national and global level." Chantal Blouin, Associate Director, Centre for Trade Policy and Law, Carleton University/University of Ottawa, Canada "A great introduction and reference for health policy students, offering clear and concise explication of key theories about policy-making and applied to the health sector. This book unravels the complex world of health politics and decision-making, making it comprehensible for many who have difficulty understanding the system they work in, or aspire to enter the world of health policy to make a difference." Professor Vivian Lin, School of Public Health, La Trobe University, Australia
Call Number: UC Merced eBook
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
Locating Stats Online
Consider searching the web for stats on a health concern. Sometimes it is useful to narrow to government sites with site:.gov. Sometimes you can also use the word stats or statistics to narrow the search.
Example: obesity site:.gov
The first result is from Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Example: "mental health" stats site:.gov
The first result is from the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH).
Statistics & Public Opinion
Availability of stats depends on what has been collected and how it has been collected. These may or may not cover your group by age, gender, ethnicity, etc.
California Health Interview Survey
CHIS is the nation's largest state health survey. Conducted every two years on a wide range of health topics, CHIS data gives a detailed picture of the health and health care needs of California's large and diverse population.
Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions."
Roper Center iPOLL
A database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Create your own account to access additional functionality including data downloading via RoperExpress and online data analysis via RoperExplorer.
Data Planet Statistical Datasets
Data Planet Statistical Datasets is a web-based research tool that provides access to data from licensed and public domain datasets from 80+ source organizations. It contains more than 157 billion data points from 12.6 billion datasets available in charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and are described with up to 37 fields of metadata. It includes access to EASI Market Planner.
Data Planet Statistical Ready Reference
Provides simple and refined searching of the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, metropolitan statistical area (MSA), postal code, and census-tract/block group levels.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
Provides access to authoritative and comprehensive statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.
Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health. Provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues and links to medical research and information about clinical trials.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Part of the Department of Health and Human Services, intended to increase health security in the United States
Office of Minority Health
The Office of Minority Health is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Provides access to practical health care information, research findings, and medical data to help consumers, health providers, researchers, and policymakers make informed decisions about health care issues. Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Contains research summaries on medicine and health from 37,000 contributors in an effort to provide credible, accessible health information that is free from commercial sponsorship and other conflicts of interest.