Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Goal & Outcomes
Locate sources to develop your health promotion program.
Session Outcomes: You will be able to ...
- identify suitable search tools and information sites for your topic.
- search databases effectively.
- access the full-text of resources.
- locate citation formatting functionality.
Additional Info Resources
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
Provides access to authoritative and comprehensive statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Data Planet Statistical Ready Reference
Provides simple and refined searching of the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, metropolitan statistical area (MSA), postal code, and census-tract/block group levels.
Use UC Library Search to Find Books & More
UC Library Search
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
1806 - present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, , and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.
Psychology & Counseling: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
1969 - present. Contains over 100 full text journals in areas such as applied psychology, environment psychology, language acquisition, personality and social psychology.
1894 - present. A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
1951 - present. Includes more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Use UC-eLinks to link to full text when not otherwise available.
(coverage varies according to journal title) Includes abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles from journals as well as a few book selections. Content includes the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
Chronicle of Higher Education
A news source for academia, it includes information on jobs for college and university faculty and administration.
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher
CQ Researcher offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Education Source (EBSCO)
Includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (ProQuest)
1966 - present. Covers all areas of education, including adult, urban, rural, vocational, elementary, early childhood, handicapped, gifted, and higher education. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education.
The library has more than 300 databases where you can search for articles, images, audio files videos and more. The list of databases below is just a sampling of what's available. More library databases are available at http://ucmercedlibrary.info/doing-research/databases.
Web of Science
Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present). Also includes Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI).
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.
Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest)
Simultaneously searches multiple social science databases, including EconLit, ERIC (education), Philosopher's Index, PsycARTICLES, and many more.
Subjects: American Studies
, Controversial Topics
, Current Events
, Gardening and Horticulture
, Gender and Women's Studies
, Psychology and Cognitive Science
Consider finding reputable websites from organizations focus on your healthy behavior or issue.