LibGuides: Web Evaluation & News Sources: News Databases (Current News)

Major Daily Papers

Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. LA Times news stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.
New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1980 - present. Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Provides access to the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism which has garnered it 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932.
Washington Post (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1987 - present. Provides access to in-depth news and analysis of American politics as well as coverage of national and international trends and events.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1984 - present. WSJ is the worlds leading financial newspaper. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.

Major Daily Papers - Combined

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Combined) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to eight historical newspapers including the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1991), Los Angeles Times (1881-1991), New York Times (1851-2008), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-1994), Washington Post (1877-1995).
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and archives contain coverage as far back as 1985.

Selected Newspaper Databases

Newsbank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a full-text database of over 15,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, and selected reference works. Previously LexisNexis Academic.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 major U.S. and International newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Nearly 9,000 business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, Web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also, company profiles and company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Photographs, audio sound bites, and graphics from the Associated Press (AP). The collection includes 12 million photographs from 1826 forward.

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444