Skip to main content

New York Times Online: NYTimes

Sign up for free access to the New York Times online & learn more about features and tips and tricks.

NYTimes Group Pass Devices

New York Times promo banner

As a UC Merced patron you have full access to the New York Times online!

Click here to get set up, or proceed directly to nytimes.com if you already created an account.

To get set up, search for Merced, and select University of California, Merced. Proceed with creating an account. Each user must register while on campus or through the VPN and must use a UC Merced email address. After you have registered, you can log in from the NYTimes.com site even if you are not on the UC Merced network.

For directions on setting up your access, please consult this Activation Guide.

Why create an account? The New York Times is one of the world's most respected and trusted newspapers. With a free NYTimes account, there's NO monthly article limit and you get FREE access to all NYT content, including their archives. Plus, you can access your account from anywhere! 

Our Favorite Features

Current Events & Breaking News

Get up to the minute 24/7 coverage of current events and breaking news stories. From the NYTimes homepage you can toggle to the Chinese edition, the Spanish edition, and a reimaged version of today's paper. You have easy access to all 25 sections of the paper, as well as special sections - like their coverage of the 2016 election

NYTimes also provides regularly updated lists of its most emailed and most viewed content, as well as articles that are recommended for you based on those you've viewed previously. And the best part? They make it super easy to share content through email or social media.

We love the Times Machine (aka the New York Times digital archive)! You have unlimited access to issues from 1851-1922 and 1981-current day. Access to 1923-1980 content is limited to a certain number of issues per day.

Access the Times Machine.

Once you're in the archives you can keyword search using the magnifying glass in the upper right corner or browse by date using the search box at the bottom.

Times Topics are a great way to browse for content on a specific topic. Each page synthesizes all NYTimes content, including multimedia content, on a topic dating back to 1981. This is an archived section, so it is not updated.

How to find Times Topics:

From here you can click into a suggested topic based on current events or browse alphabetically, by person, subject, place, or organization.

Strapped for time? Don't worry, staying up to date is easy with a New York Times Newsletter!

Newsletters

From here, subscribe to any newsletter that catches your interest. The frequency varies and topics include:

Based on the content you view, the New York Times provides a list of articles it thinks you would be interested in.

How to find your recommendations:

 

Looking for audio visual materials? Make your way to the Multimedia page to view pictures of the day, a podcast directory, and featured multimedia pieces.

How to get there:

New York Times in Education

As part of our access to the New York Times online, you also get access to the New York Times in Education. New content and teaching resources are added to this site by Faculty Contributors on a weekly basis. The "Co-Curricular Activities" and "General Instructional Strategies" sections make it easy and convenient to bring real-life examples and context to the classroom.

Note: You may need to re-register for access to this material. You will be prompted to log in.

Follow your favorite sections

New York Times FBLOGO TWLOGO   IG logo Education Life Blog   TWLOGO National   TWLOGO Science FBLOGO TWLOGO
Arts   TWLOGO Fashion FBLOGO TWLOGO NYT Magazine   TWLOGO Technology   TWLOGO
At War Blog   TWLOGO Health   TWLOGO Opinion FBLOGO TWLOGO Upshot FBLOGO TWLOGO
Business   TWLOGO Learning Network Blog FBLOGO TWLOGO Opinionator Blog   TWLOGO Well Blog FBLOGO TWLOGO
Dot Earth Blog   TWLOGO Lens Photo Blog FBLOGO TWLOGO Politics FBLOGO TWLOGO World   TWLOGO

You can follow your favorite journalists too! Do a quick Google search to find their accounts.

How to Access Your Group Pass

New York Times logoGrab a Pass icon

You must be on campus to set up your account. After that you can access it anywhere!

Already set up an account? Click here.

The library also provides access to New York Times articles (though not video / images, etc) through ProQuest.

Access to older issues of the New York Times (from 1851-2008) is available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York TImes.

Other Newspapers

As a UC Merced patron, you also have access to a number of other newspapers.

Access newspapers in our databases:

Note: to access these newspapers, you will need to be either on campus or connected to the VPN.

Make an Appointment with a Librarian