Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Reopening Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Medical Education : Medical Databases

Resources for medical education at UC Merced

Medline Databases

MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database, is the primary component of PubMed, a literature database developed and maintained by the NLM National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To learn more about PubMed, visit the UC Merced Library's PubMed LibGuide


MEDLINE (via PubMed) 
1951 - present. MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicines premier bibliographic database, covering biomedicine and life sciences topics. Includes references from journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Use the drop down menu to select PubMed only. Use icons or UC-eLinks to link to full text.

PubMed Central
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

MEDLINE Plus
Targeted at the healthcare consumer, MEDLINE Plus provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues as well as links to medical research and information about clinical trials. Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health.

MEDLINE (via Web of Science)
1951 - present. MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicines premier bibliographic database, covering biomedicine and life sciences topics. Includes references from journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Use UC-eLinks to link to full text.

MEDLINE (via Ovid)
1946 - present. MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicines premier bibliographic database, covering biomedicine and life sciences topics. Includes references from journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters.

Other Medical Databases

A-Z List of Medical Database
A complete list of medical database provided via the UC Merced Library


LitCovid
Brings together up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus, providing access to 1328 (and growing) research articles in PubMed. Articles are updated daily and are categorized by different research topics and geographic locations. Via the National Library of Medicine.


Mary Ann Liebert Journals 

Mary Ann Liebert journals primarily focus in the areas of biomedical research and clinical medicine.


National Center for Biotechnology Information: List of Resources
A list of over 100 database ranging from Amino Acid Explorer to Multiple Sequence Alignment Viewer to Viral Genomes.