Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For titles in the UC system, use the UC-eLinks button to initiate a Reqest for the title.
About the Literature Review
Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students
We have highlighted some sections which may be of particular interest.
- Research is about telling a story -- a professor's perspective (2:12 - 3:08)
- Different types of literature review -- e.g. in a thesis or dissertation (3:48 - 4:13)
- So what's involved in reviewing the literature? (7:00 - 8:46)
* produced by NC State University Libraries (~10 minutes)
Locating an in-depth review related to your topic of interest, can be a good first step to finding relevant information. Look for literature reviews limiters in various databases. Note that in some search tools reviews refer to book reviews and not literature reviews. e.g. in JSTOR
Web of Science
Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present). Also includes Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI).
1806 - present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, , and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.
Synthesis grids are organizational tools used to record the main concepts of your sources and can help you make connections about how your sources relate to one another.
Basic Literature Review Source Template from Walden University Writing Center to help record the main findings and concepts from different articles.
Sample Literature Review Grids
This spreadsheet contains multiple tabs with different grid templates. Download or create your own copy to begin recording notes.
Sara Davidson Squibb
Subjects:African American Studies
, African Studies
, Controversial Topics
, Criminal Justice
, Current Events
, East Asian Studies
, Engineering (Aerospace)
, Engineering (Biological)
, Health Sciences
, Middle Eastern Studies
, Performing Arts
, Science (General)
, Writing Studies
Chat with a Librarian 24/7