Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Library Research DIY

Discover how to start your academic research with this guided tutorial.

Now that you have learned how to narrow the databases by subject and practiced identifying relevant subjects areas for a few research topics, let's explore the recommended subject-specific databases.

When you select a subject using the All Subjects filter on the A-Z databases page, a list of databases related to that subject will appear in a list.

When selecting Biology, available at libguides.ucmerced.edu/az.php?s=6878 which will open in a new tab, you will find a list of over 40 databases.  At the top of the list, there are three databases listed as Best Bets. A screenshot of what appears at the live site is provided below.

screenshot of Best Bets in Biology

Best Bets are recommended databases that can help you get started with finding information for topics related to a particular subject. Best Bets for Biology include BioOne Complete, Biosis Citation Index, and ScienceDirect.

Notice that the database descriptions provide you with more information about each database. Biosis Citation Index, for example, lists content from 5,300 journals, as well as conference proceedings, books, and patents.

Click the Next button to learn about subject-specific databases beyond the Best Bets.