Skip to main content
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Using the Library from Off-Campus: Remote Library Services

*a summary of key library services during the campus' move to remote learning in response to COVID-19

Book Returns & Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Currently due dates for UC Merced Library materials and Interlibrary Loan (ILL) items are not being enforced. Please keep these items in your possession until further notice.

Obtaining items through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is currently limited. Requests for articles and book chapters may be filled. Requests for physical items cannot currently be filled or delivered due to the COVID-19 emergency.  New to requesting? View this short video "Requesting a Full-Text Article Through UC-eLinks" (2:09).

  • Currently, we are unable to accommodate viewing of Library Use Only materials.
  • To check the status of your ILL requests or to renew ILL books, visit My ILL Requests. Your library account number is your UCMnetID.

Click on the UC-eLinks button to access or request full-text of articles and book chapters from library catalogs and databases.  Need more explanation? View this short video "Find Full-Text of Articles through UC-eLinks" (2:15).

Library Collections

Library spaces are currently not open for use.; therefore, physical items cannot be retrieved from the library's stacks.

Access library content from off-campus locations by connecting to the Virtual Private Network (VPN)Download and connect to the VPN now.

HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service makes digital versions of printed books held by UC Libraries available to UC Merced users. Visit the HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service guide for details on taking advantage of this access. Note: Items are not downloadable.

Search Melvyl, the library's catalog, to locate ebooks, print books, articles and other source types. View "Using Melvyl" for a quick introduction (1:58).

Visit the library's Databases A-Z listing to locate databases with content including scholarly journals articles, newspaper articles and more. Unsure how to select a database?  Try out this guided tutorial.

Research Assistance

Research appointments with librarians are offered through Zoom.  When you make an appointment, you will receive a Zoom link.

Chat reference is available 24/7.

See options for having your questions answered in our Ask a Librarian box on this page.

Visit our Library Staff Directory to contact us individually or email library@ucmerced.edu.

Data Management & Research Computing

Researchers who would like to discuss their data management plans can submit a request for consultation.

Graduate instructors who would like to schedule virtual instruction on research computing topics (e.g., version control, Unix shell) or data management plans can submit an Instruction Request.

GIS Support (Spatial Analysis and Research Center - SpARC)

Drop-in hours in the SpARC lab are suspended for the duration of the COVID-19 emergency.

Contact SpARC staff for assistance:

View SpARC calendar for available virtual workshops.

View SpARC guide for information on software and data sources for GIS purposes.

Ask a Librarian

Contact Us!

Research Appointment
library@ucmerced.edu
209-228-4444