Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History 191 (Malloy)

Library Research for History Capstone

Strategies

If you have a known item, it can be helpful to first determine what the item is e.g. article, book, pamphlet, song, dissertation etc.  At times, this may influence where you look for the item.

Sample Bibliography: https://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/japanese-relocation

1) UC Library Search

  • includes a wide range of formats and goes beyond UC's collection
  • can Request easily from records in this catalog

2) Google Scholar

  • includes many articles and references to books, a quick way to check for article titles though it is not exhaustive
  • includes citations from JSTOR

3) Journals@UCMerced

  • includes coverage details for periodicals (newspapers, journals, and magazines)

4) HathiTrust Digital Library

  • citations and some full-text, search a large collection of digitized books etc.
  • a Title search is available
  • pre-1923 content available in full-text
  • may end up in HathiTrust from Melvyl @ UC Merced

5) Archives, Government, or Educational Institutions

  • state archives etc. may make materials available, see list of State Archives
  • collections are often in print but increasingly archives are digitizing and making collections available online
  • consider limiting to .edu or .gov in a Google search e.g. Missouri Compromise" site:.edu
    • may lead you to bibliographies or other citations

6) Look for a databases that targets your topic/date.

  • for example, if looking for government document consider looking at Congressional Publications

Citations - Find These

Try it Out:  

  • Do we have the item immediately available at UC Merced?
  • Where did you search for this item?

1) Schauer, Edward, and Elizabeth Wheaton. "Sex Trafficking into the United States: a Literature Review." Criminal Justice Review. 31.2 (2006): 146-169.

2) Soccer in a football world: the story of America's forgotten game, David Wangerin, 2008.

3) "U.S. Soccer Title To Nationals." New York Times, 16 April 1928, 29.

4) Salmon, E.T.  1970.  Roman Colonization under the Republic.  Ithaca: Cornell University Press.

5) Yeo, Cedric A. "The Founding and Function of Roman Colonies." The Classical World. 52.4 (1959): 104-130.

6) Kara, S. Sex Trafficking: Inside the Business of Modern Slavery (Columbia University Press, New York, 2009).

7) Young, James E. Writing and Rewriting the Holocaust: Narrative and the Consequences of Interpretation. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1990.

8) Mintz, Alan L. Popular Culture and the Shaping of Holocaust Memory in America. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 2001.

9) Apel, Dora. Memory Effects: The Holocaust and the Art of Secondary Witnessing. New Brunswick, N.J: Rutgers University Press, 2002.

10) From Chinese to Chinese American: Chinese Women & Families in a Sierra Nevada Town, California History, 1988.

Find a Known Item - Tutorial