LibGuides: History 133 (Torres-Rouff): Find Historical Newspapers

About Historical Newspapers

Multiple newspapers are often available via one database platform.
Some newspapers are freely available; others are accessible through library subscriptions.
Be aware of content coverage; some is very sparse e.g. a handful of issues.
Be aware of scan quality; some are difficult to read and may or may not be transcribed.

from Quora.com

Additional Map showing States West of the Mississippi (Prophoto4)

Historical Newspapers - Readex Platform

Within Readex, look for Browse Publications.

California Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many California newspapers of historical significance dating as far back as 1849. Newspapers from San Francisco, Sacramento, San Jose, Stockton and Benicia are included.
African American Newspapers Series 1 This link opens in a new window
1827 - 1998. Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant
Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1808 - 1980. A collection of Spanish-language and Spanish/English newspapers printed in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage begins in 1808 with the first Spanish-language newspaper printed in the U.S.

Historical Newspapers - Gale Platform

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers. Emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.

Historical Newspapers - Chronicling America (Library of Congress)

I recommending visiting the complete list of digitized papers.

You can visit Advanced Search and narrow to a specific time frame e.g. 1840 to 1900 and to specific states. However, search results are by newspaper pages NOT just by a specific newspaper title. You can search in the U.S. Newspaper Directory 1690-present for a specific newspaper title though this may dead-end.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search and read newspaper pages from 1777-1963 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Examples of Digitized Papers from Chronicling America

Note: Papers from the California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC) also appear in Chronicling of America.

The Morning Call (San Francisco)
"The San Francisco Call began life on December 1, 1856, as the Daily Morning Call. Staunchly Republican in political outlook, the Call was popular with the working classes, and it was the city's leading morning newspaper for several decades."
The Austin Weekly Statesman
"At the Democratic State Convention in January 1871, delegates decided that Austin needed a Democratic newspaper to compete with the two Republican papers already in circulation."
The Salt Lake Herald
"On Sunday, June 5, 1870, publishers William C. Dunbar and Edward L. Sloan, elders in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS), released the first issue of the Salt Lake Herald. The men promoted their newspaper as independent and neutral."

Historical Newspapers - ProQuest platform

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
1881 - 2010. Provides access to LA Times content just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new window
1865 - 1922. Provides access to the SF Chronicle just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Notes on Downloads

Readex Platform - able to download PDFs of an issue

Gale Platform - able to download PDFs of an issue

Library of Congress, Chronicling of America - able to download single pages of an issue

ProQuest Platform - able to download single pages of an issue

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444