Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Databases at UC Merced
Learn how to find databases and how to narrow down by database subject area, full-text availability, etc. (1:14)
Scholarly Article Databases
Below are just a few of the history and humanities library databases that provide access to scholarly content. Find more using the Subject limiter in the Databases A-Z list. For history, there are many related subjects you will also want to sort by, including:
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
This comprehensive international database includes research on United States and Canadian history for all periods from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and Ph.D dissertations. Draws upon over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use America: History and Life.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Search by subject or browse full text of 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .
Scholarly articles (published in print and/or online scholarly journals) are usually reviewed by experts in a process known as peer review before they are published. The purpose of scholarly articles is to share research findings. They are written for other scholars or experts.
Scholarly Article Types
These type of articles are written to present the results of an experiment or study.
- In the Sciences and Social Sciences, this type of article will have a methodology section that tells how the experiment, clinical trial, survey, etc. was set up and conducted, a results or discussion section, and usually a conclusion section.
- In the Arts and Humanities, this type of article is set up more like an essay. Scholars are making logical argu,emts nased on evidence, though this will often come from texts. While the essay format, may seem more approachable, these essays include equally technical language.
These type of articles are written to bring together and summarize the results/conclusions from multiple original research articles/studies. This types of article will not usually have a methodology section, and they generally have very extensive bibliographies.
These type of articles are written to contribute to the theoretical foundations of a field of study. In this type of article, an author will draw upon existing research to form a new theory or explore theories in new ways.