Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Popular articles (published in print and/or online newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and other sources) are not reviewed by experts but may be extensively researched and/or fact-checked, depending on the publication. Their purpose is to share information about current events, politics, and cultural and social issues. These sources can also be used in a historical context, as well. They are written for a general audience.
Newspaper & Magazine Databases
Below are just a few of the 65+ library databases that provide access to news content. Find more by visiting the Newspapers tag in the full database list. You'll find both current and historical newspaper content.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Combined)
Provides full-text access to eight historical newspapers including the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1991), Los Angeles Times (1881-1991), New York Times (1851-2008), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-1994), Washington Post (1877-1995).
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest)
1985 - present. Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and archives contain coverage as far back as 1985.
Newsbank: Access World News
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
Selected Magazine Sources (from Academic Search Complete)
Selected magazine sources from Academic Search Complete recommended for research requiring magazine literature on a specific issue with differing points of view. The sources include Time, Economist, Atlantic Monthly, U.S. News & World Report and others. Note: May be appropriate for library research required for lower-division writing courses.
Popular Article Types
Some popular sources may focus on serious topics written by either experts or journalists. Articles from these print and online magazine and newspaper sources are called popular because they are aimed at the general population. These tend to be shorter articles which don't include bibliographies. This doesn't make them "bad," but should be used sparingly in evidence-based research papers. They may be very helpful to explore topics.
These type of articles contai practical information focused on news, trends, or practices aimed at professionals in a specific field or industry experts in a given field. While this type of article is written a bit more formally and may contain some citations, it is still considered a popular article.
These type of articles are those found in print and online propaganda and gossip magazines and newspapers. They are aimed at gullible audiences and appeal to superstitions and prejudice, often using inflammatory language.