Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books are useful for background information and can add depth to a research topic or put your topic in context with other important issues. Some books are also scholarly, such as those published by a university press.
Using my results from Credo (See Background Information), I was able to find books listed in the bibliography, which link to UC Library Search, the Library's catalog. While we don't have the book The Sable Arm: Black Troops in the Union Army, 1861-1865, I can request it from another Library through Interlibrary Loan using the form under the Get It section in item record.
In the book's record, I can find subject headings, which act like hashtags. By clicking on United States. -- Army -- African American troops -- History -- 19th century, I can find more items, including books, about this particular topic.
The Sable Arm by A bona fide classic, the Sable Arm was the first work to fully chronicle the remarkable story of the nearly 180,000 black troops who served in the Union army. Hailed by such distinguished historians as T. Harry Williams ("superbly written") and George B. Tindall ("a volume of permanent value"), this work paved the way for the exploration of the black military experience in other wars. The present edition, with a new foreword and bibliographical essay, makes available once again a pioneering work that will be especially useful for scholars and students of Civil War, black, and military history.
Call Number: Request through Interlibrary Loan
Publication Date: 1987-04-04
UC Library Search
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
EBSCO now hosts ebooks formerly on the NetLibrary platform. Minimum browser requirements: IE 7.0, Firefox 3.0, and Safari 3.0. Adobe Acrobat Reader required for viewing PDF files. Acrobat Reader 8.2 recommended. Single user access. A title become available when a user leaves the ebook page or closes the browser window.
Project Muse Open Access Books
Provides access to over 550 humanities and social science books from several university presses with full open access.
ProQuest Ebook Central
An eBook collection from a variety of academic subject areas. View titles online. Login to use personalized tools such as the bookshelf and highlighting.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks
Over 90,000 eBooks in specialist subjects covering a wide area of academic content. Consolidates previous CRC Press databases.
Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection
2011 frontlist titles only. Includes 950+ online books with 2011 publication dates. Subject areas include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Titles continually added through 2011 as they are published.