Heritage Studies

19th century - present.Indexes articles from over 2500 scholarly journals. Also indexes book chapters, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

From the Internet Archive, Archive-It provides tools, training, and technical support for capturing and preserving dynamic web materials, as well as a platform for partners to share their collections, with multiple search, discovery, and access capabilities.

Grants access to over 7 million records describing archival materials on historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more, with over 1,400 archival institutions represented,

Articles from important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886. Includes industry & market research , SWOT analyses, over 600 books and more than 1,200 journals in the areas of business, marketing, management, finance and economics.

Access to a geographic encyclopedia including names, descriptions and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.

Brings together cultural, linguistic, environmental and geographic information on over 1,400 human societies, facilitating comparison and contrast of cultural practices and exploration of factors that may underlie cultural similarities and differences.

A cross-cultural database containing information on world prehistory. Organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

A cross-cultural database that includes information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. If you have access issues, follow this link to troubleshoot.

Includes GeoRef in Process. 1963 - present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.

GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and related to the environment. Full text is available for selected titles and references are available for an additional 200 titles.

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use America: History and Life.

Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues.  Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included. As of 2024, also includes ARTstor.

Provides access to a full-text database of over 15,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, and selected reference works. Access Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One from the top left waffle menu.

(Prototype) Sponsored by the Andrew W. Mellon foundation and the NEH, SNAC helps users discover, locate and use distributed historical records. Still in development, SNAC aims to provide researchers with socio-historical contexts in which records were created. Search by name, subject, or occupation.

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity.

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The objectives of WDL include intercultural understanding and partnerships as well as providing resources for educators and scholars.