Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Range of Subjects
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .
UC Library Search
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Art & Architecture Databases
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Strong international coverage from periodicals published English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Previously Art Source (EBSCO).
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest)
1934 - present. Covers the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, including the publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated weekly.
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals (EBSCO)
Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century. Describes the entire journal contents including articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (ProQuest)
1973 - present. Provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship for European art from late antiquity to present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Also includes coverage of painting, sculpture, drawing, folk art, antiques and other visual art in all media. Previously Bibliography of the History of Art.
Humanities Databases with Art Content
The Arts (Proquest)
Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more. Previously Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest).
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest)
Provides access to three centuries of the arts, humanities, and social sciences indexed coverage, from first issue to 1995 or ceased date. Over 6,000 journals are included, including international journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from university presses and scholarly societies. Focused on the humanities and social sciences.
Web of Science
Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present). Also includes Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI).
Art History Resources on the Web
Links to extensive resources for the study of art history.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Combines 300 chronologies, close to 1,000 essays, and over 7,000 works of art to create a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history through The Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.