Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
1926 - present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
LION (Literature Online) (ProQuest)
A comprehensive literature database of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose dating as far back as 600. Includes links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 400 authors and biographies for over 1,000 authors.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Gateway to Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Online Series and Scribner Writers Online Series.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Chicano Database (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Newer records include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Use Melvyl to Find Books & More
Melvyl @ UC Merced
Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display according to best match (relevance). The UC Merced Library filter allows users to narrow to local content.
Try a search in a database that looks interesting and record what you were able to find on the spreadsheet.
What to include:
- your research question or topic
- possible keywords that you might use to search
- what database you used (e.g., JSTOR, Melvyl, Academic Search Complete, Chicano Database, etc)
- what did you find?
(We'll go through these step by step.)
Full-text may be immediately available via a pdf or html page. If not, use the UCeLinks button to reach a request page. You can Interlibrary Loan the item using your UCMnetID.