Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide highlights Credo content related to music. Credo provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias and dictionaries. Visit each tab to find Credo Topic Pages and additional content around a particular subject area.
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
Credo Reference search box
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Locations
Includes coverage of the historical, geographical, demographical, political, economic and cultural context; genres for which the location is known or which have been important to the development and current practice of its popular music; significant venues such as theatres, dance halls, clubs and bars, the role of the industry: music publishers, record companies/labels, recording studios, radio and TV; the role of the state and government regulatory bodies; the teaching and research of popular music in educational institutions; songs associated with the location; and notable performers and other practitioners such as producers, engineers, technological innovators, record company heads, journalists, critics and scholars, songwriters, composers and lyricists.
Publisher Collection titles
Please note: Publisher Collections are not part of Credo General Reference collections. Your library may not have access, please check your subscription.
General Music titles
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music by
A guide to the thousands of characters, from humble artisan to lofty genius, who people the unfolding history of music, this volume brings together all the pertinent biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by
Wide ranging and reliable, this treasure trove includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.
The New Penguin Dictionary of Music by
Succinct and comprehensive guide to the history, forms, and personalities of classical music. Readers will find biographies of thousands of composers from Albinoni to Zappa, with in-depth treatment of major figures, coverage of individual works, including plot summaries of operas and ballets, articles on the history of music and instruments, entries on musical forms, from medieval plainchant to contemporary minimalism, and clear definitions of technical terms and jargon.