Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide highlights Credo content related to Art history. Credo provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more. Visit each tab to find Credo Topic Pages and additional content around a particular subject area.
Terms and Techniques
The Bloomsbury Guide to Art by
Provides a fascinating insight into the origins and significance of the work of Western artists and architects. It includes tightly-focused entries on: individual artists (eg Salvador Dali); art, architecture and design terminology (eg Gothic); countries and their cultural significance (eg Art in France); theoretical concepts (eg formalism); and mythological and religious subjects and symbols (eg Christ). There are also contextualized entries on important individual works of art (eg The Haywain).
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms by
An essential reference work embracing the vast vocabulary of art in all its forms. Contains over 2000 authoritative entries. Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day: there is even a table of the dynasties of Ancient Greece, Ancient Egypt, China, India and Japan.
Artists and Collections
A Biographical Dictionary of Artists, Andromeda by
Covering over 1300 artists, this dictionary is made up of alphabetically arranged entries for painters (such as Monet), architects (such as Aalto), and sculptors (such as Brancusi) from pre-Christian times to the present (see, for example, Berlin painter, Hockney). The coverage of the book is truly global, with many Asian and African artists included. Each artist's entry includes dates, training, career, influences on his or her work, and, for approximately one-third of the artists, a bibliography of further reading.
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists by
International and up-to-date, this copiously cross-referenced dictionary provides information on artists, paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, schools and movements, including essential information on contemporary art and artists, not available elsewhere, and on techniques, materials, terms, and writers who have influenced artists.
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of British Art by
Covers British Art through every period from the Anglo-Saxons to the present day, and every significant medium, from painting, sculpture and printmaking to medieval goldsmiths' work and stained glass. Includes up to date information on hundreds of artists, from Blake to Bacon and Constable to Kauffmann, and in-depth coverage of general topics such as schools, concepts, techniques, institutions, patronage and art criticism.
The Encyclopedia of American Folk Art by
Illustrated with both black and white and full-color photos, this A-Z encyclopedia covers every aspect of American folk art, encompassing not only painting, but also sculpture, basketry, ceramics, quilts, furniture, toys, beadwork, and more, including both famous and lesser-known genres.
The Encyclopaedia of the Renaissance
Details in entries the broad range of events, people, ideas and movements that together have come to represent this era. The encyclopaedia also covers a complete range of general topics, including entries devoted to literature, music, philosophy, religion, science, technology, exploration, art, and architecture.
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of the Italian Renaissance
Contains entries covering music (eg Palestrina), architecture (eg palazzo), war, diplomacy (Machiavelli), religion, literature and social history, as well as the visual arts (eg Leonardo da Vinci). Includes entries written by major scholars such as Dennis Arnold, Brian Pullan and Marie Boas Hall.
The Thames & Hudson Encyclopaedia of Impressionism by
Entries cover not only the lives and careers of the main participants - painters (eg Monet), critics (eg Zola), patrons, dealers and collectors, as well as writers and musicians - but also techniques, prices and localities, while a wealth of information on the cultural, social and political background helps to set Impressionism in context.
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
Greenwood Artists Collection
Please note: Publisher Collections are not part of Credo General Reference collections. Your library may not have access, please check your subscription.