Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful Tools for Conducting Research
UC Merced Library Links
UC Library Search
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Use boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to get better search results.
Evaluate Search Results
Evaluate your search results by looking at the article title, subject headings and abstract. Is the article relevant? Is it current? Does it answer any part of your research question?
save time by searching multiple forms of a word simultaneously.
Links to a number of online tutorials, both general and specific, that teach you about accessing information resources and doing library research.
USPTO Web Patent Databases
1790 - present. United States Patent and Trademark Office produced database of U.S. patents. Full-text available for each patent. USPTO Manual of Classification How to Identify and Obtain Patents.
From Chemical Abstract Services. A collection of chemical literature and information databases. Includes CAplus (the online version of Chemical Abstracts), the CAS Registry, and CASREACT. Requires the creation of an account. Register here
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .
Merck Index Online
Basic chemical, property and use information (with literature references) on nearly 11,000 significant chemicals, drugs and biological substances. Searchable by name, registry number, etc., as well as by structure or substructure. Includes Organic Name Collections (concise descriptions and histories of 446 named reactions) and 60 pages of additional tables.
A database of chemical facts from 175 journals in organic chemistry, indexing three primary data domains: substances, reactions, and literature. Also includes organometallic and inorganic chemistry, covering literature from the year 1772 to today. Covers 1.6 million compounds, 1.3 million structures, 1.3 million reactions, and 900,000 citations, including titles and abstracts from 1995. Fully searchable by structures, substructures, and reactions.
Science of Synthesis
Critical collection of high-quality, relevant synthetic methods in organic and organometallic chemistry. Each one with full experimental procedures. Includes the Houben-Weyl backfiles, covering the literature to the mid-1800's. When complete, it will include 38,000 generally applicable experimental procedures, including 240,000 reactions and 800,000 structures.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Contains the most frequently used data in science, including the periodic table of the elements, basic constants and units, thermodynamic and spectroscopic data; electric, magnetic, thermal and structural properties of solids, key data from nuclear science, astronomy and geophysics; and up-to-date health and safety information. Part of the CHEMnetBASE collection.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Contains the complete text, including citations, tables, and abstracts, of many volumes of the 4th ed. of the Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Chemical and physical property data provided and maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Users can find data in the NIST Chemistry WebBook either by direct searches for chemical species or indirect searches based on related data.
Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a reference work, international in scope and coverage, encompassing all the disciplines and current practice of industrial chemistry and chemical engineering around the world. Its 1,000 major articles by 3,000 leaders from research and industrial organizations are well-illustrated with charts and figures and extensive bibliographies.
Gateway to web versions of Chapman & Hall/CRC chemical information resources. Contains information on physical property data, structural representations, and chemical synonyms.
This reference collection of almost 900 titles includes books from 30 Sci-Tech publishers. The main subject areas include Engineering, Life Sciences & Chemistry, and Materials. All titles are available in full-text and are searchable. Additional features include interactive tables, equation plotters and graph digitizers.
Deputy University Librarian