Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction: From Idea to Library
North Carolina State University (NCSU) Libraries, 2:28
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Use UC Library Search to Find Books & More
UC Library Search
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Selecting a Databases
A. What subjects do you associate with these research questions?
- How can psychedelics be used to treat depression in the elderly?
- Are drones effective in detecting parasites in crops?
- What motivates college students to motivate in local elections?
B. Do we have these subjects available in our library database listing?
- Locate one or more subjects affiliated with your question.
- Identify two potential databases in which you might search. Consider that your database will need to contain scholarly articles.
General Databases for Sciences
Web of Science
Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present). Also includes Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI).
(coverage varies according to journal title) Includes abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles from journals as well as a few book selections. Content includes the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest)
Simultaneously searches multiple social science databases, including EconLit, ERIC (education), Philosopher's Index, PsycARTICLES, and many more.
Provides useful background information on topics and helps identify keywords. Concept map is very helpful.
Congressional Quarterly Researcher
Offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of pressing political or social issues. Includes topics such as health, the environment, and public policy..