Introduction to Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (MSE 118): Home

Engineering Referece Sources

 

Access Engineering (Selected Titles hosted by CDL) 
Description: Selected engineering texts from McGraw-Hill. Includes titles focused on Electrical, Civil, Mechanical and Chemical engineering disciplines. Includes Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers.
 

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL) 
Description: Provides access to a large collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

California Building Standards Code: Title 24

Description: Building codes for the State of California.

 

ENGnetBASE 
Description: A collection of engineering handbooks.
 

Knovel Library
Description: A reference collection of almost 900 titles includes books from 30 Sci-Tech publishers. The main subject areas include Engineering, Life Sciences & Chemistry, and Materials. All titles are available in full-text and are searchable. Additional features include interactive tables, equation plotters and graph digitizers.
 

Patent Information

Description: US Patent & Trademark Office and more.

 

Major Databases for Engineering Literature:

ACM Digital Library
Description: Allows searching of articles from publications of the Association for Computing Machinery by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Over 22,000 articles have displayable full-text available.

ASME Digital Library (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)
Description: 1990 to present. A collection of materials from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers including ASME’s 23 Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present and Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.

CITRIS
Description: The Center for Information Technology Research in the Interest of Society — CITRIS — creates information technology solutions for many of our most pressing social, environmental, and health care problems. CITRIS was created to“shorten the pipeline” between world-class laboratory research and the creation of start-ups,larger companies, and whole industries.

COMPENDEX PLUS
Description: 1969- present. Compendex, via Engineering Village 2, contains over 9 million records and references from over 5,000 journals, conferences, and trade publications. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. 

Education Full Text
Description: 1996-present. Covers all aspects of education including adult, arts, athletics, elementary, secondary, higher, vocational, and more. Journal Directory indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Description: 1966-present. Covers all areas of education, including adult, urban, rural, vocational, elementary, early childhood, handicapped, gifted, and higher education. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education.

IEEE Xplore
Description: 1913- present. Full-text access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and from the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). These publications include transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards

INSPEC
Description: 1898-present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

Materials Research Society
Description: Materials Research Society (MRS) promotes communication exchange through publication of symposium proceedings, the MRS Bulletin, the Journal of Materials Research, and other publications, databases, and videotapes related to current research activities. 

Materials Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1994-present. Over 5,000 articles from approximately 15 journal titles. Subjects include molecular modeling, natural polymer modification, and liposome stabilization.

PsycARTICLES
Description: 1985-present. A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Description: 1969-present. Contains 35 full text journal in areas such as applied psychology, environment psychology, language acquisition, personality and social psychology.

PsycINFO
Description: 1840-present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.

PubMED (MEDLINE)
1953-present. MEDLINE and genetics databases from the National Library of Medicine. Now offers e-mail alerting! Choose Abstract display to see UC E-Links icons for linking to full text and ordering interlibrary loans.

USPTO Web Patent Databases 
Description: 1790-present. United States Patent and Trademark Office produced database of U.S. patents. Full-text available for each patent. USPTO Manual of Classification How to Identify and Obtain Patents.

 

Web of Science
Description: Provides multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Web of Science allows you to conduct searches that allow you to see what articles have cited any other article in the database.