Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sociology Databases or Related Subject Areas
UC Library Search
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
1952 - present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Sociology: A SAGE Full-text collection
1967-present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 30 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.
Social Sciences (ProQuest)
Searches many databases including the following SAGE Full-text Collections in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning. ERIC, PAIS, PsycArticles, PsycInfo, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts are also included.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Provides the comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.
Web of Science
Coverage varies depending on the index. Encompasses Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 – present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 – present), and Science Citation Index (1900 – present).
1840 - present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (ProQuest)
1966 - present. Covers all areas of education, including adult, urban, rural, vocational, elementary, early childhood, handicapped, gifted, and higher education. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education.
Education Source (EBSCO)
Includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
Research Methods & Tools
SAGE Research Methods
Grants access to the SAGE Research Methods Base Model, with access to more than 1,000 books, reference works and journal articles from across the social sciences, as well as 500 SRM Case Studies and SRM Datasets for teaching and instruction. SAGE Research Videos are not included.
All of the journals listed below are peer reviewed.
This list was generated from Journal Citations Reports (JCR), Eigenfactor.org, Ulrich’s, and list of titles abstracts in Sociological Abstracts.
- American Journal of Economics and Sociology
- American Journal of Sociology
- American Sociological Review
- Annual Review of Sociology
- British Journal of Sociology
- British Journal of Sociology of Education
- City & Community
- Economy and Society
- Ethnic and Racial Studies
- Gender & Society
- Journal of Health and Social Behavior
- Journal of Marriage and Family
- Mobilization: An International Journal
- Sex Role: A Journal of Research
- Social Forces
- Social Networks
- Social Problems
- Social Psychology Quarterly
- Social Science Research
- Sociological Methods & Research
- Sociological Perspectives
- Sociological Theory
- Sociological Association
- Sociology of Education
- Youth & Society
Journals - other Disciplines
The following are other journals in which you may find articles related to your topic. They are all peer reviewed unless otherwise indicated with an asterisk *. These journals tend to fall into the following broad subject areas: Education & Educational Research; Developmental Psychology; Psychology, Clinical; Psychology, Social; Medical Sciences etc.)
- British Journal of Educational Psychology
- College Student Journal
- Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis
- Emotional and Behavioural Difficulties
- Higher Education Policy
- Higher Education
- Quarterly Journal of College Student Psychotherapy
- Journal of College Student Retention: Research, Theory & Practice
- Journal of Education for Business
- Journal of Education Policy
- Journal of Education and Work
- Journal of Social & Clinical Psychology
- Journal of Social Work
- * NASPA (National Association of Student Personnel Administrators Journal)
- Journal of Student Affairs Research and Practice
- Nursing Research
- Research in Higher Education
- Research in the Schools
- Review of Educational Research
- Studies in Higher Education