Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Topics, Concepts & Terms
images from http://office.microsoft.com
Tips for Finding Keywords & Subject Headings
- Use a visual thesaurus like Snappy Words, Visuwords, or GraphWords
- Use references sources like Credo Reference to get background information and key words.
- Most EBSCO databases have a tool to help you discover subject terms. See EBSCO Academic Search Complete > Subject Terms
- Most ProQuest databases have a tool to help you discover subject terms: See PsycInfo > Thesaurus
- When you find a useful article, look at the database Subject Headings and record them as possible search terms. (Example)
Finding Background Information
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher
CQ Researcher offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more.
Melvyl @ UC Merced
Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display according to best match (relevance). The UC Merced Library filter allows users to narrow to local content.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.