Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Sociology 001 (Duenas): Sociology Databases & More

Introduction to Sociology

Using Library Databases

All databases work more or less the same; they just look a little different. Nearly all have filters to allow you to limit your results by source type, date, etc. This page contains some subject-appropriate databases and also includes some databases that are multidisciplinary. Take/watch the tutorials below to learn how some of these databases work.

GOTS: Using Sociological Abstracts

Using Sociological Abstracts

GOTS tutorial teal

Through this tutorial you will learn how to

  • access Sociological Abstracts
  • construct a search
  • apply useful database limiters
  • access full-text of articles
  • generate citations in ASA format

Instructions:

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial.  Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Certificate of completion" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).

Using Sociological Abstracts >> http://gots.ucmerced.edu/tutorial/using-sociological-abstracts

Searching in Academic Search Complete


Learn how to access and search Academic Search Complete, a database with a wide range of materials on many topics. (~2:00 min)

Using Melvyl

Use Melvyl to find eBooks, print books, as well as articles and other materials (UC Merced Library, 1:58).

Recommended Databases - Research Starting Points

These are just a few of UC Merced's many (over 600!) databases. You can find more databases by subject in the A-Z list. Watch this short video for directions.

Use Melvyl to Find Books & More

Search Using Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar to access many journal articles made available to you by the UC Merced Library.