Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases: Starting Points
Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.
Congressional Research Service Reports (ProQuest)
2004 - present. CRS provide excellent background information on areas of public policy. Reports are generated by researchers working within the Library of Congress and are created at the request of Members of Congress or their committees.
Newsbank: Access World News
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher
* more topic based than geography based / CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .
UC Library Search
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest)
Simultaneously searches multiple social science databases, including EconLit, ERIC (education), Philosopher's Index, PsycARTICLES, and many more.
Chronicle of Higher Education
A news source for academia, it includes information on jobs for college and university faculty and administration.
EdStats collects worldwide data on education from national statistical , statistical annexes of new publications, and other data sources.
Education Source (EBSCO)
Includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
1968 - present. Full-text of peer-reviewed journals on education topics including diversity, teaching methods, leadership, and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (ProQuest)
1966 - present. Covers all areas of education, including adult, urban, rural, vocational, elementary, early childhood, handicapped, gifted, and higher education. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education.
Pew Internet & American Life Project
Produces reports exploring the impact of the internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life.
Roper Center iPOLL
A database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Create your own account to access additional functionality including data downloading via RoperExpress and online data analysis via RoperExplorer.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
Provides access to authoritative and comprehensive statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Data Planet Statistical Ready Reference
Provides simple and refined searching of the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, metropolitan statistical area (MSA), postal code, and census-tract/block group levels.