Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Explore a database with your table group, and answer the following questions. Select a spokesperson (or persons) who will briefly show us the database:
- What search options do you see?
- Try some searches. Which keywords work the best?
- Are you able to get access to full-text?
Databases to be explored are: ABELL; LION; MLA; Gale Literature Resource Center
Key Literature Databases
LION (Literature Online) (ProQuest)
A comprehensive literature database of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose dating as far back as 600. Includes links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 400 authors and biographies for over 1,000 authors.
Brings together Gale's literary databases (Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writer Series and Twayne's Authors Series) into one cross-searchable platform. Previously Artemis Literary Sources.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
1926 - present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Gateway to Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Online Series and Scribner Writers Online Series.
ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
1920 - present. Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world.
Additional eBook Collections
Oxford Handbooks Online - Literature
A collection of over 50 Oxford handbooks whose essays explore and critique poetry, prose, verse, and drama produced in the British Isles and North America.
Provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more.
Additional Humanities Databases
The Arts (Proquest)
Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more. Previously Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest).
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Search by subject or browse full text of 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
This comprehensive international database includes research on United States and Canadian history for all periods from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and Ph.D dissertations. Draws upon over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use America: History and Life.
Use Melvyl to Find Books & More
UC Library Search
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Selected Literature Databases (with a focus)
Black Women Writers
Highlights the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Includes fiction, poetry, and essays.
When complete this database will include 130,000 pages of fiction, poetry and drama. Works are in English, Spanish, French, Dutch and a variety of local languages. Covers from 1900 to the present and includes writers from the entire region, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana and Suriname.
Romantic Era Redefined
1800 - 1830. Includes poetry, prose, drama, letters, and diaries - along with political, philosophical, scientific, and sociological works. Provides access to Pickering & Chatto's critical editions in electronic format, as well as the complete digital version of The Wordsworth Circle.
Scottish Women Poets
Contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry by Scottish women poets, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.
South and Southeast Asian Literature
1825 - present. A collection of fiction, short fiction, poetry, interviews and manuscript materials with a focus on writing from the late-colonial and postcolonial eras. Works are written by authors from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore and Fiji.
Walter Scott Digital Archive
Contains over 300 electronic texts of works by the Scottish novelist and poet Sir Walter Scott (1771-1832), author of Ivanhoe and the Waverley novels. At the same site there is biographical information about Scott, a bibliography of recent critical publications, forthcoming events relating to Scott, a bibliography of his works, and links to other relevant sites.
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .