LibGuides: Writing 100 (Varnot): Databases

Ulrichs Global Serials Directory

Not sure if an article is scholarly or popular? Ulrichs has detailed information on more than 300,000 publications. Enter journal/magazine title in the search box and find your publication. Then, look for Academic/Scholarly in the Content Type field.

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Profiles nearly a quarter of a million consumer and trade magazines, academic and scholarly publications, monographic series, newsletters, newspapers, electronic publications, 'zines, and many other types of serial publications on all subjects.

Library Catalog

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.

Question

Which databases have you used the most during your time at UC Merced?

Question

Academic Search Complete: 9 votes (30%)

JSTOR: 2 votes (6.67%)

Web of Science: 0 votes (0%)

PubMed: 2 votes (6.67%)

Other: 17 votes (56.67%)

Total Votes: 30

General Databases to Start With

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from university presses and scholarly societies. Focused on the humanities and social sciences.

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444