Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Writing 105 (Downey): Article Databases

Grammar & Style

Finding Databases at UC Merced

How to find databases at UC Merced. Learn to search for databases and narrow down by database subject area, full-text availability, etc. (1:07)

Arts

Business

Engineering

Mathematics

Overview & Examples

Databases search multiple sources, including newspapers, magazines, & scholarly journals, through one interface.

"Use scholarly journal articles when you need original research on a topic; articles and essays written by scholars or subject experts; factual documented information to reinforce a position; or references lists that point you to other relevant research...Scholarly journals include information of academic interest, so they are not the best sources for general interest topics" (CQ University Library, "Evaluating Books, Journals, Journal Articles and Websites").

For example:

Find all of the library's databases by subject here.

For your topic, it may be beneficial to search databases in your discipline, the composition & writing databases, as well as the two databases listed in the Multiple Subjects box below.

Multiple Subjects

Composition & Writing

History

Psychology