Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
|Determine the key ideas and terms in your topic.
||Example: I am interested in the marketing psychology aimed at teenagers .
|Think of synonyms or related terms.
||"marketing psychology" / "consumer psychology" / "advertising psychology"
teenagers / teens / adolescents / young adults
|Select useful resources to search.
||Databases > Subject > Psychology (other subject areas may include Business & Economics)
|Construct a search strategy. Start with keyword searching.
||Many databases default to a keyword search field.
|Look for a phrase, using quotation marks.
||"marketing psychology" / "consumer psychology" / "advertising psychology"
|Join similar terms with OR
||"marketing psychology" OR "consumer psychology" OR "advertising psychology"
|Join dissimilar terms with AND
("marketing psychology" OR "consumer psychology" OR "advertising psychology") AND (teenagers OR adolescents)
|Truncate a term (usually *)
||teen* (to search for teen, teens, teenagers)
- Look for other terms and phrases to describe your topic from the literature you find.
- Depending on what you initially find, consider broadening or narrowing your topic.
- Take advantage of "controlled vocabulary" e.g. descriptors, subject terms when they are available.
- Some databases have "See related materials" links.
- Limit your search if needed e.g. by date, by format, the field being search.
- Examine the bibliographies for relevant materials.
- Sort results by relevance if this is not the default. e.g. In some databases the default is by most recent date.
- Find a great article? See who else has cited it
Found a great article and wonder who has since cited it?
Try Web of Science. Look up article by Title. Find article citation in the results list. Click on Time Cited link.
Try Google Scholar. Type in the article title. Find article citation in the results list. Click on Cited By link.
Access Library Resources from Off Campus
PubMed This link opens in a new window
1951 - present. Includes more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Use Get it at UC to link to full text when not otherwise available.
Bioline International This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed, open access journals published in developing countries focusing on public health, international development, food and nutritional security, tropical medicine and biodiversity.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Includes nine collections of ebooks that span a wide range of thematic content in computer science and many areas of electrical, biomedical and general engineering applications. Through Morgan & Claypool Publishers.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
1898 - present. INSPEC, via Engineering Village 2, offers over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.
Click Get it at UC to easily find the full-text of a resource.
If we do not have it full-text in our collection, you will have an option to Request the item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) at no cost to you.
Databases - primarily academic articles
These are some of the databases available that may be useful for your topic.
Databases by Subject Area
also links to A-Z, recommended, and formats
use Advanced Search and select "Articles" to remove Review literature
Full text of 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication. Select "Articles only" to avoid reviews.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
An archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
A database of millions of articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
Find citations. Use the title OR UC-eLinks link / button to check for full-text access. Go to Scholar Preferences > Bibliography Manager > Show links ... > Select RefWorks > Save Preferences (for RefWorks export option)
Web of Science
includes social sciences & humanities; use UC-eLinks to locate full-text
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Business & Economics
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles from important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886. Includes industry & market research , SWOT analyses, over 600 books and more than 1,200 journals in the areas of business, marketing, management, finance and economics.
EconLit (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1969 - present. Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use America: History and Life.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive international database includes research on United States and Canadian history for all periods from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and Ph.D dissertations. Draws upon over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1926 - present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Gateway to Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Online Series and Scribner Writers Online Series.
1806 - present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, , and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1894 - present. A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
1952 - present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1970s - present. A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government reports, etc.
Anthropology Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
19th century - present.Indexes articles from over 2500 scholarly journals. Also indexes book chapters, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
A research tool for anthropological scholarship developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Includes peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins.