Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Student Assistants Research 101: What's New?

Database Page

Late spring we migrated to a new platform for our database page: 

http://libguides.ucmerced.edu/az.php

Useful features

  • Dropdrown menus for subject, database type, vendors/providers 
  • A-Z listing and search bar to locate specific databases
  • Most frequently used databases listed on the left
  • Best Bets featured at the top of each subject database

Roving Reference - Peer Assistance

information iconLooking for information?

Our Rovers are ready to assist you with your library research questions.

Hours: Fall 2017

 Monday  7pm - 11pm
 Tuesday  7pm - 11pm
 Wednesday  7pm - 11pm
 Thursday  7pm - 11pm
 Friday  2pm - 5pm
 Saturday  2pm - 5pm
 Sunday  7pm - 11pm

For more information, visit Roving Reference.

Research Appointment Scheduling Tool

We have a new tool for scheduling appointments with a librarian. No more research consultation form! Appointments!

Access scheduling tool on the: 

  • Ask a Librarian page
    • Appointment icon

Tool benefits:

  • Meeting requests are scheduled and confirmed immediately
  • Patron can select to meet with a librarian by name, or select no preference 
  • Patron will receive a confirmation email, and an email reminder prior to the appointment
  • Provides a default group for research appointments; can select other library units

 

Flipster

Flipster provides full text access to magazines through the UC Merced Library: UCM Flipster homepage

Access via a web browser or the Flipster app. The Flipster app allows you to save issues and download magazines to read offline.

The Flipster app is installed on all Library iPad minis. 

Title Model
Allure Unlimited
Backpacker Unlimited
Discover Unlimited
ESPN Magazine Unlimited
Glamour Unlimited
GQ: Gentlemen's Quarterly Unlimited
InStyle 100 SIMUsers
Men's Health 50 SIMUsers
The New Yorker Unlimited
Outdoor Life Unlimited
Rolling Stone 500 SIMUsers
Time 100 SIMUsers
Us Weekly 500 SIMUsers
Vanity Fair Unlimited
Vogue Unlimited
Wired Unlimited
Women's Health 50 SIMUsers