Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WRI 10 (McIntire): Library Welcome

Session Outcomes

By the end of this session, you will be able to:

  • develop a strategy for researching a topic of interest.
  • recognize common similarities and differences between databases.
  • access databases and retrieve useful information
  • identify people and services for asking follow-up questions.

Upcoming Workshops

Library Terms You Need to Know

  • abstract - A brief summary of the content of a book or article.
  • Boolean logic - using short words (AND, OR, NOT) to tell a database how search words related to each other. AND narrows a search.  OR broadens a search.  NOT removes a concept from a search. Examples: cats AND leukemia, cats OR felines, cats NOT siamese.
  • citation - A short description of a book, article or web page that has been quoted or used as a source. MLA style example:
       Burns, Tom, and Sandra Sinfield. Essential Study Skills: The complete guide to success at university. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, 2003.
  • controlled vocabulary/descriptors - Carefully selected words or phrases used to tag information for easy retrieval.  Example: pants may be the descriptor for trousers, slacks, dungarees, etc.
  • database - A searchable electronic catalog or index that helps you find articles and other library materials.
    • link resolver - Allows you to get from the citation to the actual article (full text), regardless of which database you find it in. Ours is UC-eLinks.

                   

    • interlibrary loan - A free library service that allows you to borrow materials from other libraries.
    • journal - A scholarly magazine that contains articles written by professors, researchers or experts in a subject area.
    • truncation - A search technique in which you use a symbol to search for variations on a word. Example: educat* searches educate, education, educator, etc.

      Subject Guide

      Profile Photo
      Elizabeth McMunn-Tetangco
      Contact:
      KL 275
      209-631-8359
      Social: Twitter Page