Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
VIDEO: Finding Databases at UC Merced
Learn how to find databases and how to narrow down by database subject area, full-text availability, etc. (1:14)
Selected Literature Databases
With a partner, look at an assigned database. Try some searches related to your topics, and answer the following questions:
- 1) Does this database include scholarly articles? Articles related to your topic?
- 2) Can you sort items by date?
- 3) Can you get full text of articles?
Databases: Academic Search Complete, Project Muse, MLA
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
1926 - present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
The Arts (Proquest)
Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more. Previously Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest).
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Gateway to Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Online Series and Scribner Writers Online Series.
ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
1920 - present. Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world.
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 & 2 (EBSCO)
Includes thousands of historical articles and books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture as well as over 100 newspaper titles and books on Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries Written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
LION (Literature Online) (ProQuest)
A comprehensive literature database of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose dating as far back as 600. Includes links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 400 authors and biographies for over 1,000 authors.
Search by subject or browse full text of 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.
24/7 Chat With a Librarian
Ulrichs Global Serials Directory
Not sure if an article is scholarly or popular? Ulrichs has detailed information on more than 300,000 publications. Enter journal/magazine title in the search box and find your publication. Then, look for Academic/Scholarly in the Content Type field.
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Profiles nearly a quarter of a million consumer and trade magazines, academic and scholarly publications, monographic series, newsletters, newspapers, electronic publications, 'zines, and many other types of serial publications on all subjects.
Access Library Resources from Off Campus
The VPN allows you to connect to the library's online articles and eBooks from off campus.
Visit library.ucmerced.edu/use/technology/vpn to download the VPN.
*Image courtesy of Design Services, UCI Libraries