Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LION (Literature Online)
A comprehensive literature database of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose dating as far back as 600. Includes links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 400 authors and biographies for over 1,000 authors.
Literature Resources from Gale
A comprehensive and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use America: History and Life.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
This comprehensive international database includes research on United States and Canadian history for all periods from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and Ph.D dissertations. Draws upon over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
American Periodicals (ProQuest)
1740 - 1940. Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Access is available to the American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries collection.
Full-text, primary documents and critical documentary essays on a variety of topics related to the late nineteenth century in America. Themes include race & ethnicity, labor, western expansion, gender, and social progress.
Other - Sample, Time Period Focus
Databases - primarily academic articles
These are some of the databases available that may be useful for your topic.
Databases by Subject Area
also links to A-Z, recommended, and formats
use Advanced Search and select "Articles" to remove Review literature
Full text of 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication. Select "Articles only" to avoid reviews.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
An archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
A database of millions of articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
Find citations. Use the title OR UC-eLinks link / button to check for full-text access. Go to Scholar Preferences > Bibliography Manager > Show links ... > Select RefWorks > Save Preferences (for RefWorks export option)
Web of Science
includes social sciences & humanities; use UC-eLinks to locate full-text
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
1952 - present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.
1970s - present. A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government reports, etc.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender
1910 - 1975. Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and newspaper coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times
1851 - 2008. Provides access to NYT content just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle
1865 - 1922. Provides access to the SF Chronicle just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.