Digital Collections - Resources - Teaching with Data Collections and Primary Sources - LibGuides at University of California Merced

California Subject Focus

California Loyalty Oath Digital Collection
Bancroft Library, UC Berkeley; re: protests at UC Berkeley during the McCarthy era
Oviat Library Digital Collections
California State University Northridge; includes San Fernando Valley History, Latina(o) Cultural Heritage Archives
California State Library
Browse online documents at the Internet Archive, variety of topic e.g. Chinese exclusion

California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC) This link opens in a new window
Includes over 150,000 digitized pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-1911. They include the Alta California (1849-1889); the San Francisco Call (1900-1910); the Amador Ledger (1900-1911); the Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911); and the Los Angeles Herald (1905-1907).
California Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many California newspapers of historical significance dating as far back as 1849. Newspapers from San Francisco, Sacramento, San Jose, Stockton and Benicia are included.

Selected Digital Collections

Picture Collection Online - NYPL
most are before 1923, some subjects are provided
African Americans Seen Through the Eyes of the Newsreel Cameraman
from South Carolina Digital Library, events capture by Fox News and Fox Movietone News
Bently Snow Crystal Collection
Buffalo Museum of Science, pictures of snowflakes
The Women in Chemistry Oral History Project
from Iowa State University, Archives of Women in Science and Engineering (written transcripts of interviews)

Ad*Access Project This link opens in a new window
An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II.

Cornell Lab of Ornithology - Macaulay Library
recordings of animal sounds
AAEC (American Association of Editorial Cartoonists) Editorial Cartoons
from the University of Southern Mississippi, 1000+ cartoons from 50+ cartoonists
Sykes Editorial Cartoon Collection
from Virginia Commonwealth University, drawings from 1940 to 1980 from Charles Henry 'Bill' Sykes
Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC) Digital Collections
from University of Miami, including photograph, interviews, posters, postcards etc.
Digital Projects, U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)
includes videos on historical public health and training, monographs re: cholera pandemics in the 1800s, 3-D representations of the human body and more

Organizations & Libraries with Multiple Collections

Digital Collections @ Stanford
includes Dime Novels Full Text, History of Artificial Intelligence, The Monterey Jazz Festival Collection,
New York Public Library Digital Gallery - All Collection Guides
Civil War Medical Photographs to Floor Plans for NY Apartments in the early 1900s
Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections (The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences)
Alfred Hitchcock Papers to Academy Publications
Digital Projects, U.S. National Library of Medicine
including Medicine in the Americas 16100-1920, Turning the Pages (online books)

American Memory Project This link opens in a new window
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.
Duke Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Digital image collection held by Duke University Libraries or other organizations affiliated with Duke University. Includes collections such as the William Gedney Photographs and Writings, Historic American Sheet Music and the Emergence of Advertising in America.

Smithsonian Collections
catalog search links to various digital objects, browse by category option
The Digital Collections of Harvard College Library
includes varies collections including Theodore Roosevelt Collection Photographs and Early Photography of Japan

Format Focus - Maps

American Memory Project: Map Collections This link opens in a new window
Eleven map collections digitized from the Library of Congress. Content includes maps from the Civil War to World War II.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 11,000 map images from the 18th and 19th centuries of North and South America.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes 11,000 map images scanned at the University of Texas including maps published by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Additional links are provided to more maps sites.

UC Libraries - Multiple Collections

UC Santa Cruz Digital Collections
including Organic Farming-Sustainable Agriculture Oral Histories, Performing Arts Collection
UC Santa Barbara Digital Collections
primarily photograph and paper collections
UC San Diego Digital Library Collections (DLC)
from Chinese Cultural Revolution posters to the Dr. Seuss Collection
UCLA Digital Collections
from L.A. in Photographs to the Huxley (Aldous) Collection
UC Davis - Digital Collections Projects
includes Eastman's Originals Collection, photos of California life
Calisphere - from CDL (California Digital Library)
e.g. The Letters of John Muir, lesson plans
Online Archive of California (OAC) from CDL
look for "Online Items"
UC Merced - Special Collections
Henry O. Nightingale Civil War Diaries, Chinese Seals online, The Clark Center for Japanese Art and Culture Collection
UC Riverside Libraries Digital Collections
Avery E. Field Collection re: Riverside's development
UC Irvine Digital Collections
many are online exhibits, includes Documenting the South East Asian experience

Format Focus - Images

Databases by Format - Images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is an ever-growing digital library of over 500,000 images of art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures and time periods to support teaching and learning in the humanities and social sciences. The Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024, and Artstor's high-quality collections and key functionality are now available on JSTOR.
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Photographs, audio sound bites, and graphics from the Associated Press (AP). The collection includes 12 million photographs from 1826 forward.
Animal Diversity Web (ADW) This link opens in a new window
An online collection of natural history, classification, species characteristics, conservation biology, and distribution information on thousands of species of animals. Contains photographs, sound clips, and a virtual museum. Via the University of Michigan. Previously BIODIDAC.
Images of America: a History of American Life in Images and Texts This link opens in a new window
Over 1 million historical images and texts from local history books, celebrating the places and faces that give America its spirit and life.
LIFE Photo Archive (hosted by Google) This link opens in a new window
Search photographs from the LIFE photo archive.

Format Focus - Primary Documents

Databases by Format - Primary Documents

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of texts in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
African American Newspapers Series 1 This link opens in a new window
1827 - 1998. Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant
American Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1740 - 1940. Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Access is available to the American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries collection.
Gerritsen Women's History Collection This link opens in a new window
1543 - 1945. Trace the evolution of feminism by using digital images from more than 4,700 books, periodicals, letters, diaries and pamphlets from Europe, the U.S., Canada, and New Zealand. Contains over two million page images of primary sources.
Gilded Age This link opens in a new window
Full-text, primary documents and critical documentary essays on a variety of topics related to the late nineteenth century in America. Themes include race & ethnicity, labor, western expansion, gender, and social progress.
Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1808 - 1980. A collection of Spanish-language and Spanish/English newspapers printed in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage begins in 1808 with the first Spanish-language newspaper printed in the U.S.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
Provides access to personal accounts of immigrants who came to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444

Teaching with Data Collections and Primary Sources: Digital Collections - Resources