Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Writing 131 (Ruiz): RefWorks & Citing Sources

Journal Production

Create a RefWorks Account

Use the link below to sign up for RefWorks

  • Click Sign up or login to RefWorks
  • Click Sign up for an Individual Account
  • Create a Login Name and Password

Create Citations

Academic Search Complete (ASC)

  • Check mark articles.
  • Click on the Folder icon (upper right) to view the items.
  • Select the articles in your folder. Save or email.
  • Select the citation style. APA is available.

UC Library Search(All UC's Catalog)

  • Go to a record for an item.
  • Click on Citation. 
  • Select citation style.  APA is available.

RefWorks Tutorials

Quick RefWorks tutorials which guide you through using this tool.

Exporting Citations to RefWorks from ScienceDirect

  • Conduct a search
  • Checkmark items of interest
  • Click Export citations
  • Select RefWorks Direct Export
  • Click Export
  • If you are not logged in to RefWorks, the log-in screen will pop up.
  • Log in if needed.
  • References are automatically saved in Last Imported Folder
  • Checkmark articles and save in desired folder

Exporting Citations to RefWorks from Web of Science

    • Conduct a search.
    • Checkmark items of interest.
    • Click on “RefWorks”.
    • If you are not logged in to RefWorks, the log-in screen will pop up.
    • Log in if needed.
    • References will be automatically saved in Last Imported folder.

          Exporting Citations to RefWorks from PubMed/MEDLINE

          The results of a search, selections from a search, or selections from multiple search (by using the PubMed clipboard) can be imported from PubMed to RefWorks.  Select the resources you want to import, and follow these directions:

          1. Select the items of interest on the results list.  Check mark the items.
          2. Under Send to: select File
          3. For Format, select MEDLINE
          4. Click Create File
          5. In the Pop up box, select Save File, then click OK
          6. Save file to desktop
          7. Login to your RefWorks account with your username and password.
          8. Select "Reference ... Import" to open the RefWorks Import Form.
          9. Under Import Filter/Data Source selecte NLM PubMed.
          10. Database should be PubMed (only one choice).
          11. Click Browse
          12. Open the file you saved to the desktop (pubmed_result.txt), then click Open
          13. Click Import button
          14. References will be saved in Last Imported Folder

          Creating a Bibliography

          • Log in to RefWorks
          • Go to Bibliography > Output Style Manager
          • Select Output Style > Click on Green Arrow to add to Favorites
          • Go back to Bibliography > Create
          • Select the appropriate Output Style
          • References to Include > Select appropriate folder
          • Click Create Bibliography
          • Copy and paste the Bibliography to a Word document

          RefWorks Workshops

          Interested in learning more about RefWorks?  RefWorks Workshops will be offered throughout the semester:

          Wednesday, Apr. 1, 12-1 pm in KL 371

          Formatting In-Text Citations/Bibliography

          • Download Write-N-Cite to your computer (Tools > Write-N-Cite)
          • Open a Word document
          • From menu - View > Toolbars > Write-N-Cite
          • Begin writing your paper
          • When it's time to cite an article, Go to Insert Citation > Select Folder > Select Citation > Save
          • Repeat for each in-text citation until paper is finished
          • Select Output Style
          • Click Insert Bibliography