Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Melvyl to Find Books & More
Use Melvyl to search for books, or browse the shelves in the library.
Most books on popular music will be within this range of call numbers:
ML3469 - ML3531
Melvyl @ UC Merced
Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display according to best match (relevance). The UC Merced Library filter allows users to narrow to local content.
Credo Reference search box
Popular Music Journals
These links go directly to separate academic journals. Use subject terms to search within the journal.
General Subject Databases
The library has more than 300 databases where you can search for articles, images, audio files videos and more. The list of databases below is just a sampling of what's available. More library databases are available at http://ucmercedlibrary.info/doing-research/databases.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Search by subject or browse full text of 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.
The links below are just a sample of databases that may be useful in your research.
See the complete list of music databases.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO)
1967 - present. Comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world, useful for scholars, students, librarians, performers, teachers, and music lovers.
Grove Music Online
A leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001. Includes more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music
Contemporary World Music contains 50,000 tracks that deliver the sounds of all regions from every continent. It includes genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. From Alexander Street Press.
Naxos Music Library (NML)
Naxos Music Library is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. NML can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. With the new iPhone / iPod Touch App subscribers can also access the service on the go.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. Contains more than 3000 CDs and new CDs are added every month.
Music & Performing Arts
Cross-search hundreds of thousands of audio tracks, scores, and reference works across many Alexander Street Press music databases including African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Garland Encyclopedia of Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound.
Search for the lyrics of your favorite songs.